Background on the State Board of Agricultural Research and Education (SBARE)

Duties:

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education (SBARE), within the policies of the State Board of Higher Education, is responsible for budgeting and policymaking associated with the North Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station and the North Dakota State University Extension Service.

SBARE responsibilities include:

- Determine the causes of any adverse economic impacts on crops and livestock produced in this state;
- Develop ongoing strategies for the provision of research solutions and resources to negate adverse economic impacts on crops and livestock produced in this state;
- Develop ongoing strategies for the dissemination of research information through the North Dakota State University Extension Service;
- Implement the strategies developed under subsections 2 and 3, subject to approval by the State Board of Higher Education;
- Develop, with the North Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station and the North Dakota State University Extension Service, an annual budget for the operations of these entities;
- Develop a biennial budget request and submit that request to the President of North Dakota State University and the State Board of Higher Education;
- Maximize the use of existing financial resources, equipment and facilities to generate the greatest economic benefit from research and extension efforts and to promote efficiency;
- Annually evaluate the results of research and extension activities and expenditures and report the findings to the Legislative Council and the State Board of Higher Education;
- Advise the President of North Dakota State University regarding the recruitment, selection and performance of the North Dakota State University Vice President for Agricultural Affairs, Extension Service Director and the Station Director; and
- Present a status report to the budget section of the Legislative Council.

Membership:

The State Board of Agricultural Research and Education (SBARE) consists of:

- The President of North Dakota State University or the President's designee
- The Vice President for Agriculture and University Extension at North Dakota State University*
- The Director of the North Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station*
- The Director of the North Dakota State University Extension Service*
- Five people appointed by the North Dakota Ag Coalition
- Five people appointed in the geographic areas represented by the North Dakota State University Extension Service's multi-county program units
- The North Dakota Agriculture Commissioner*
- Two members of the legislative assembly appointed by the chair of the Legislative Council

^{*}serves in an ex-officio, non-voting capacity

Current SBARE Membership (effective 7/1/2024): (ND Ag Coalition appointees in red)

Jim Bahm (2028, II)

4422 42nd Ave New Salem, ND 58563-9776 701-471-9423 jrbbahm@gmail.com

Doug Bichler (2026, II)

130 83rd St. SE Linton, ND 58552 701-226-4068 dougbichler@hotmail.com

Mike Clemens (2028, I)

101123 20th St. SE Wimbledon, ND 58492 701-840-0506 mjclemens@hotmail.com

David Cook, NDSU President

NDSU Dept. 1000, PO Box 6050 Fargo, ND 58108-6050 701-231-7211 david.j.cook@ndsu.edu

John Dhuyvetter (2028, II)

2120 Academy Road Minot, ND 58703 406-783-7999 john.dhuyvetter@outlook.com

Doug Goehring, Agriculture Commissioner

600 E. Boulevard, Dept. 602 Bismarck, ND 58505-0200 701-328-4754 goehring@nd.gov

Pam Gulleson (2026, I)

PO Box 215 Rutland, ND 58067 701-471-4256 pgulleson@gmail.com

Jerry Klein, State Legislator

PO Box 265 Fessenden, ND 58428-0265 701- 547-3517 jklein@ndlegis.gov

Greg Lardy, NDSU VP for Ag Affairs

NDSU Dept. 7520, PO Box 6050 Fargo, ND 58108-6050 701-231-7660 gregory.lardy@ndsu.edu

Sarah Lovas (2025, II) Chair

607 5th Ave. SE Hillsboro, ND 58045 701-866-1704 sarah.e.h.lovas@gmail.com

Alisa Mitskog, State Legislator

1504 Oakwood Avenue Wahpeton, ND 58075-3553 701-640-4006 amitskog@ndlegis.gov

John Nordgaard (2026, I) Vice Chair

410 Sunset Bay Rd Bottineau, ND 58318-8144 701-739-3819 john.nordgaard@blackgoldfarms.com

Scott Ouradnik (2027, I)

6703 141st Ave. SW Amidon, ND 58620 701-440-8321 mrmedora@hotmail.com

Mark Urguhart (2025, I)

1809 3rd Ave NE Jamestown, ND 58401 701-368-1473 urky70@hotmail.com

Julie Zikmund (2026, II)

205 Southview Dr Park River, ND 58270 701-331-2458 jgothman@hotmail.com

Compensation and Expense Reimbursement:

Each appointed member of SBARE is entitled to receive \$135 per day (\$67.50 if less than four hours) as compensation for the time actually spent devoted to the duties of office. Each member is also entitled to receive necessary expenses in the same manner and amounts as state officials for attending meetings and performing other functions of office. Legislative assembly members receive compensation from Legislative Council.

Selection Criteria:

- Participation in and knowledge of the agriculture industry in North Dakota
- Local and statewide leadership experience
- Willingness to serve on SBARE, which includes monthly board meetings, subcommittee assignments, preparation for board meetings and involvement with decision makers
- Willingness to communicate with other groups in the area about the workings of SBARE

For More Information, Contact:

North Dakota Ag Coalition 1605 E. Capitol Ave., Suite 204 Bismarck, ND 58501 701-355-4458 aplummer@clearwatercommunications.net https://www.ndagcoalition.org/

SBARE Website:

https://www.ndsu.edu/vpag/sbare/